July 1st, 2011: London

Sophie, Robert, and me at The Green Man (I think)

Visited UCL today. Got a Cornish pasty (the ‘a’ is pronounced like the ‘a’ in chassis, not like the ‘a’ in hasty . . . at least, in this case) and then walked from Euston Station through Camden. UCL is still partially under construction, but then again, so is Stanford. The square in front of the main building is now clear–or would have been if there hadn’t been a rally and book drive.

Very successful meeting. I really enjoyed meeting Dr. Kuechler, and learning more about UCL’s new Masters program in Culture, Material, and Design. She recommended many books and articles, which I wrote down in the little notebook Ashley Titan gave me for my birthday. Some of these are:

The Revs Program at Stanford came up many times, and at the end of the meeting, Dr. Kuechler suggested that a link between our websites, and a conference, were both possibilities for the future. As Scott’s wall says: “Awesome saurus.”

I learned a new slang word: “blag,” which means to bargain one’s way into accessing something. Meeting up with Sophie Vitai didn’t go as smoothly as planned, and I “blagged” my way into the a UCL library, at the suggestion of some of the students sitting in the square observing the book drive. We met up in the end, and walked to near SoHo to have pub food. Sophie is in film school now, and I met her friend Robert Langley too. He said his favorite movie was The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, the first of several times that movie’s come up on this trip.

Got another copy of The Fellowship of the Ring at the bookstore at UCL. I re-read The Two Towers the last time I was here.

Leave a Reply

